Free and Discounted Fiction for Saturday, 10.01.16

Please check price before downloading. Prices are subject to change and are not guaranteed by eReader Obsession.

(Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, which means if you click on one of the product links, I’ll receive a small commission.)

Free

Perfect for fans of Nancy Drew!
A haunted mansion and legend of hidden gold-

Twelve-year-old Samantha Wolf and her best friend Ally are excited to spend part of their summer break in the mountains of Montana. But unbeknownst to them, Hollow Inn is bathed in mystery and legend.

After arriving, the girls soon discover that things are not going well for Sam’s Aunt and Uncle, who own the Inn. With ghostly sightings and rumors of lost treasures, they are determined to help save the business and perhaps solve a generations-old mystery.

Read the whole Samantha Wolf Mysteries series, now an Amazon bestseller!

Book 1 The Mystery of Hollow Inn
Book 2 The Secret of Camp Whispering Pines
Book 3 The Beach House Mystery
Book 4 The Heiress of Covington Ranch
Book 5 The Haunting of Eagle Creek Middle School
Book 6 A Mysterious Christmas on Orcas Island
Book 7 The Case of the Curious Canine
Book 8 The Legend of Shadow Mountain

Book 9 The Mystery of Old Gully Trail
Book 10 Return to Hollow Inn (coming 2019!)  

“I bought this and read it to see if it would be a good book for my nieces. It now sits on the shelf right alongside the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, and Encyclopedia Brown collections.” – Reader of The Mystery of Hollow Inn

“I grew up on the Trixie Beldon and Nancy Drew books. This author is in the same league, but the stories are set in a more modern era. Kids nowadays will enjoy the author’s inclusion of smartphones, texting, and similar understandings of how 12-year-olds currently live.” – Reader of The Mystery of Hollow Inn

“This book was fun. I got it for my 9 yr old daughter and ended up reading it myself and now looking for the other books in the series.” – Reader of The Mystery of Hollow Inn

WINNER! 2016 – The Gertrude Warner Mystery Chanticleer Book Award!

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

A kingdom crumbles without its ruler. The people fall to misery and desperation in the shadow of an empty throne. A father does what he must to save his son and his homeland in the absence of kings.
Enter Garreth, ranger and former royal bodyguard, who embarks from his woodland home after defending it from the encroaching loggers of the Blackwoods Company. “The King is dead!” they had screamed at Garreth and drove the man to the capital of Amatharsus to resolve the most troubling statement in Malquia’s recent history. Together with his son, Novas, and daughter of a murdered blacksmith, Kayten, Garreth is hounded by bandits, cutthroats, and highwaymen, unleashed upon the countryside by the abolition of the Crown Aegis, defenders of the King, his land, and his people. Garreth unites with the remnants of the Crown Aegis to overcome the military, political, and economic oppression that the Blackwoods Company has imposed on Amatharsus and incites rebellion before the free people of Malquia succumb to crippling recession and the environmental destruction of their verdant nation. But can one man find the strength to challenge overwhelming odds when all hope is lost?

Sovereign’s Wake is first installment of the debut Fantasy series, In the Absence of Kings, by author Lee LaCroix.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

How Far Would You Go For the One That Got Away?

Cole Sage, a once brilliant journalist, has just about reached rock bottom. Haunted by the longing for the woman he lost, Cole is jarred to a crossroads when an elderly woman shoots and kills a hostage negotiator in front of him.

Cole is stunned to receive a one line cry for help from his one great love. Face to face with his past, and an uncertain future, he tries to find her estranged daughter.

The path to keeping his word is blocked at every turn, by her abusive husband who abandoned her, his shady real estate deals, violent con men, street thugs, and the fortune in diamonds that bring them all together.

The anger, sorrow, and crippling guilt, of twenty years fires Cole’s drive to keep a promise. In the end, will his determination and grit heal and return the soul to the great journalist?

Beaten, bloody but determined, Cole Sage conquers greed and hatred with a strength that only love and a will as hard as diamond can achieve.

Scroll Up And Grab Your Copy Today!

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 


Discounted (0.99-2.99)

Fans of urban fantasy, Norse mythology, and all things Thor rave about The Ære Saga – the bestselling teen series from internationally bestselling author S.T. Bende! Read the complete series, starting with PERFEKT ORDER – Book 1 in the YA superhero fantasy saga about Norse gods . . . and the humans who love them.

All’s fair when you’re in love with War.

For seventeen-year-old Mia Ahlström, a world ruled by order is the only world she allows. A lifetime of chore charts, to-do lists and study schedules have helped earn her a spot at Redwood State University’s engineering program. And while her five year plan includes finding her very own happily-evah-aftah, years at an all-girls boarding school left her feeling woefully unprepared for keg parties and co-ed extracurricular activities.

So nothing surprises her more than catching the eye of Tyr Fredriksen at her first college party. The imposing Swede is arrogantly charming, stubbornly overprotective, and runs hot-and-cold in ways that defy reason . . . until Mia learns that she’s fallen for the Norse God of War; an immortal battle deity hiding on Midgard (Earth) to protect a valuable Asgardian treasure from a feral enemy. With a price on his head, Tyr brings more than a little excitement to Mia’s rigidly controlled life. Choosing Tyr may be the biggest distraction—or the greatest adventure—she’s ever had.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

“The Max Hamby series is perfect for readers of Harry Potter, Fablehaven, Unwanteds, Septimus Heap and Charlie Bone. A mix of magic, adventure, humor, friendship and family that draws you in.”


“You’re such a little moron, aren’t you? They will hunt you down to the ends of the earth. It’s nothing personal, just business. It’s all about survival, dear boy.”
 
Twelve-year-old Max Hamby lives a quiet life just outside of town in the small community of Pleasant Seas and that’s just the way he likes it… until the day he crashes into an odd exhibit at the local museum.
Strange things begin to happen and even stranger people want Max all to themselves.
It begins with the disappearance of his mother and a mysterious text message that takes him to the edge of the Downs; a dark forest where no one dares to go.
He’ll need to get past his eccentric neighbor first, but she has her own plan and reveals more than he ever thought possible.
These new discoveries take him to Merrihaven and a land filled with unbelievable creatures, magic and a longstanding battle for power. Someone has resurrected the Shadowstone to free the evil imprisoned inside. With the help of some unlikely allies, Max must summon the courage to find seven magical stones to save his mother before it’s too late.


Max Hamby and the Blood Diamond is the first book in Kathy Cyr’s Max Hamby series; a middle grade fantasy series.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

Belle has returned unannounced to the castle to restore her relationship with the king, her father. Her hopes are dashed with the devastating message: “The king refuses to see you.” Convinced that God has led her home, she is unwilling to return to Lord and Lady Kiralyn.

Time is running out for the decision that will change her life. When tragedy strikes, will she and her father be pulled further apart or knit together? Could she stay at the castle even if she will never see her father again?

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

How is Papa supposed to set me free when I don’t even know what I need to be freed from?

Lillian Louis James tried to live a good life but her father had a knack for bringing out the worst in her. When a quick weekend visit with him turned violent she found herself on the wrong end of the law. Stuck in the small town she would rather forget Lillian was forced to attend therapy and try to figure out where it all went wrong. Her high school crush showing up on the scene didn’t help either as unresolved feelings bubbled to the surface. Will Lillian let Jesus heal her broken past before her chance at love is gone?

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only