ereaderobsession NEWSLETTER

Free and Discounted Fiction for Tuesday, 02.02.16

Please check price before downloading. Prices are subject to change and are not guaranteed by eReader Obsession.

(Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, which means if you click on one of the product links, I’ll receive a small commission.)

Free

Handsome young heir Adam Brody sees nothing but possibilities in the sprawling old building he’s just purchased. With a little hard work, he will transform it into a hotel to meet the needs of those traveling by railroad. Aunt Caroline believes he’s lost his mind, but she agrees to help him give it a try.

Left a widow with a small daughter, Elizabeth Caldwell must find work. When she sees an advertisement in the newspaper inquiring about cheerful young women to work in a hotel, she decides to apply. However, the hotel owner specifically requested single ladies, so she must hide her former marital status, and her child, if she wishes to get the job.

With cloudy pasts to overcome, both Adam and Elizabeth want to believe in a bright future. Will they find the strength they need in each other, or will their differences keep them apart?

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.
Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden underworld of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her.

MINDJACK SERIES
Kira’s Story
Open Minds (Book One)
Closed Hearts (Book Two)
Free Souls (Book Three)

Zeph’s Story
Locked Tight (Book Four)
Cracked Open (Book Five)
Broken Wide (Book Six)…coming soon

Mindjack Short Story Collection (Novella Box Set)

FORMATS AND TRANSLATIONS
Mindjack available in ebook, print, audiobook, French and German

LIVE ACTION TRAILER
Voted Best Trailer at the 2014 Illinois International Film Festival and one of 50 Most Cinematic Trailers Ever Made – check it out at Susan’s website.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 


Discounted (0.99-2.99)

Silent pain. Secret Scars.

When her parents divorce, Krystal finds herself flailing. She withdraws from family and friends and begins cutting because it’s the one thing she can control.

No one knows her pain.

Now living only with Mom, Krystal lands in a new school where she makes a single friend, Em. Together, they volunteer at a homeless shelter, serving soup and working alongside a diverse group with a few eccentrics sprinkled in.

Everyone has secrets, but who will understand hers? How will Krystal help others when her hidden scars still sting?

What readers are saying about “Memoirs of a Girl Who Loves God”

“This is a heartwarming story that was written from the heart. It brought real meaning to me––of some things in life––that never made sense before. It made me smile, and also brought tears to my eyes. This is a must read. I wasn’t able to put it down once I started.”

“A compelling story that will have readers touched and unable to put it down. I’ve read it more than once and each and every time it brings tears to my eyes.”

“WOW! It is not an easy book to read, but it is a powerful book. Heartbreaking, heartwarming, challenging and uplifting.”

ReadFreely’s JULY 2016 Book of the Month-

What it’s about:
Memoirs of a Girl Who Loves God is the story of disturbed 14-year-old girl, Krystal. Her life is falling apart: her mother’s just cheated on her father and had a baby for another man, her father has moved out, and her school grades are abysmal. And so she takes a shard of glass and cuts her wrist…

What we love about it:
In most other writers’ hands, Krystal’s story, and those of many of the people she meets along the way, would be unremittingly bleak and depressing. There are very few things I’d want to read about less than a teenage girl who is so emotionally wrought that she finds solace in cutting her own wrists. But CL Wells skillfully manages to sweep us along in the tale without weighing us down too much with Krystal’s sadness.

A lot of the brightness comes from Krystal’s best friend, Em, a bubbly ray of sunshine who convinces Krystal to volunteer at a Christian homeless shelter, and from Brandon, the very cute guy she meets there.

I happen to have volunteered at a homeless shelter in my youth and CL Wells’ description of the shelter brought my memories flooding back. Krystal is surrounded by an eclectic group of fellow volunteers and guests, and some of the most exciting chapters of the book are when these new friends take the reins and tell Krystal (and us) their life stories, and how God has touched them.

Things begin to move in the right direction for our protagonist – she even begins to stop cutting herself – but just as we start to think that she’s found her happily-ever-after, tragedy strikes at the shelter and at home, and darkness (seems to) overwhelm all…

Who wrote it?
I really must sharpen my googling skills, cos I couldn’t, for the life of me, find out what the “CL” in CL Wells stands for. Here’s what I do know: she lives in Kansas with her partner of over twenty years, and two aged pets. She is, unsurprisingly, a Christian, and a promoter of selfharm awareness. She’s also a huge fan of Tom Hanks, Tyler Perry and Oprah.

She is currently working on a sequel to Memoirs of a Girl Who Loves God. We can’t wait.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

“This is true Chick Lit…relatable, quirky, and downright hilarious.” -Brookeblogs.com ?????

“I couldn’t put the book down and literally woke the hubz up in the middle of the night because I was laughing so hard at one point.” -Mama’sGot Flair ?????

From Readers’ Favorite Book Award winner, Becky Monson, comes a chick lit romance series that will keep you laughing. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Helen Fielding, & Jennifer Weiner, follow the adventures of Julia Dorning as she tries to escape spinsterhood.

Julia Dorning is a spinster, or at least on the road to becoming one. She has no social life, hates her career, and lives in her parent’s basement with her cat, Charlie.

With the arrival of Jared Moody, the new hire at work, Julia’s mundane life is suddenly turned upside down. Her instant (and totally ridiculous) crush on the new guy causes Julia to finally make some long-overdue changes, in hopes to find a life that includes more than baking and hanging out with Charlie.

But when the biggest and most unexpected change comes, will the new and improved Julia be able to overcome it? Or will she go back to her spinster ways?

“Dear fans of Bridget Jones, Sophie Kinsella, and Marian Keyes, I have found an American author for you to meet and watch!” -Andi’s Book Reviews ?????

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

In the future, no adults exist.

Ever since the plague swept the world 100 years ago, no one has lived past seventeen.

Sixteen-year-old Gorin, a collector of curious artifacts left over from the pre-plague civilization, is on the verge of perishing from that deadly epidemic. And his last wish is to find a way to visit the rulers’ reputedly magnificent, off-limits mansion.

Up against the clock, he and his friend Stausha steal into the mansion and discover a secret more horrifying than they ever could’ve imagined—a secret that holds the key to the survival of the whole human race.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

Dearra comes into possession of the magical Sword of Cyrus just as the evil Breken attack her island home. Though her people succeed in driving their enemy back to the sea, one of the invaders remains behind, left for dead by his cruel kin.
Now, Dearra doesn’t know what to be more surprised by, the fact that her sword can speak to her, or that it has imperiously informed her that the handsome Breken warrior is her destiny.
The two are bound together by a chain of events that was set into motion a thousand years earlier, and everything they thought they knew about themselves, their history, and their future is about to change.
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only