Free and Discounted Fiction for Tuesday, 02.09.16

Please check price before downloading. Prices are subject to change and are not guaranteed by eReader Obsession.

(Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, which means if you click on one of the product links, I’ll receive a small commission.)

Free

What if the Pacific Northwest seceded from the United States? In 2063, it has.

The climate crisis that’s devastated all but the Northwest corner of the U.S. is the only reality Piper Hall has ever known. She doesn’t waste a thought on that, the secession that created Cascadia, or the closed border, erected to keep out climate refugees. With her family impoverished by her father’s death, she’s driven by just one goal—winning a scholarship to college and later med school.

When Piper’s little brother starts talking about poor people vanishing, she’s convinced the stories are just rumors. Then she comes home to an empty house. Branded a criminal and forced into hiding, Piper must fight for her freedom, her family, and her future. But those responsible for the disappearances will stop at nothing to protect their secrets, and the only person who can help might be the very boy whose family has displaced her own.

The McCall Initiative is a story told in serial form. If you’re a fan of edge-of-your-seat dystopian thrillers with a twist of romance, you’ll love Lisa Nowak’s glimpse at a future that’s all too plausible. Great for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Legend.

Download your copy today to get a look behind Cascadia’s closed border.

“A wowzer of a series.” ~ Amazon reviewer

Deception, Episode 1, Season 1, of The McCall Initiative serial, is approximately 69 pages or 24,000 words.

Season 1 is now complete!

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

Mara Lantern doesn’t believe in metaphysical powers and alternate realities. That’s about to change.

After a jetliner plunges into the Columbia River near Portland, Oregon, everyone survives. So why do crash investigators have a hangar full of bodies, one for each passenger except Mara? Before the plane goes down, she glimpses a new reality, one with scales and snouts, fangs and gills. She sees a boy running down the aisle carrying a ball of blue light, chased by a girl who could be her clone. By trying to help, she unwittingly unleashes dozens of creatures on an unsuspecting world and sparks a series of events that threatens her life, her family and everything she believes. To save them, she has to embrace a power she cannot comprehend.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 


Discounted (0.99-2.99)

Laura Matheson is a natural at avoiding romance, so when she is drawn to mystery guest Daniel Stone while helping out at her friends’ hotel in Portugal, she assumes all she needs is a little extra willpower.

Daniel is at the hotel on business. The demands of work and a manipulative ex-girlfriend mean he doesn’t have the time or energy for romance, but Laura is a distraction he finds hard to ignore.

As they negotiate a minefield of misunderstandings and mutual attraction, will they both continue to hold back? Or will they finally allow love into their lives?

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

 

 

Inspired by books like the Harry Potter Series, the Chronicles of Narnia, and the works of Brian Froud and Jim Henson, Sheldrake hopes to capture the imaginations of readers of all ages with her Keepers of the Wellsprings series.

Azaeli Hammerfel has grown up in the guild hall of His Majesty’s Elite in the peaceful kingdom of Cerion, training hard and dreaming of the day she will finally become a squire and ride out with her parents, both knights, on the King’s Quest. Her dream comes true when she earns the right in her sixteenth year, but her name is left off the quest declaration and her parents and their guild ride off without her.

When tragedy befalls the Elite on their quest, Azi must band with her best friend Rian, a Mage Apprentice, to discover the source of a mysterious curse. They’re joined by an unlikely companion: a colorful fairy named Flit. The fairy claims she is from Kythshire, a mysterious and legendary land of Fae closed off from the outside and cloaked in secrets.

Together, the group seeks to unravel a Sorcerous plot which threatens both the existence of Kythshire, and the peace the kingdom of Cerion holds dear.

Call of Kythshire is a tale of love and friendship, the value of family, and the fight between light and dark. It is a journey of failure and redemption. It is a clean read, free of sex and gratuitous violence, with a strong female lead.

The cover and interior illustrations of this fantasy series are skillfully drawn by the author, who is a professionally trained illustrator.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

A magical novel for teens and adults alike, with full-color illustrations by the author.

Azaeli Hammerfel has been named a knight, and is thrilled to be on her first true quest alongside her parents’ guild. Their journey to see Prince Eron and his expecting wife safely to Lake Kordelya is shrouded with a sense of impending doom that tests the strength of His Majesty’s Elite and the love that Azi and Rian, the Mage, share. When Kythshire’s fairies find themselves a target of the same threat, an unlikely champion presents himself.

Tib Nullen has had a hard life. He’s just twelve years old, but as a field slave in the Sorcerer-run country of Sunteri, he has seen more toil, loss, and cruelty than anyone should be made to endure. When tragedy strikes his family, Tib finds himself flung into a plot much bigger than he. In his struggle to make sense of his thoughts, which he fears are not fully his own, he learns he has a greater purpose: to help restore the Wellspring of Sunteri.

Sorcery, Dreamwalking, Necromancy, and mystery fill the plot of Call of Sunteri, the second book of the Keepers of the Wellsprings series by Missy Sheldrake.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only