Free and Discounted Fiction for Wednesday, 02.01.17

Please check price before downloading. Prices are subject to change and are not guaranteed by eReader Obsession.

(Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, which means if you click on one of the product links, I’ll receive a small commission.)

Free

The crown is her strength. The crown is her weakness.

Princess Lily, the eldest of twelve sisters and heir to a mighty kingdom, desperately seeks a break from her mother's matchmaking. Tradition forbids marriage with the man Lily loves, so she would rather rule alone than marry someone who only wants the crown.

Fleeing an overzealous suitor, Lily stumbles into a secret underground kingdom where she and her sisters encounter a mysterious sorcerer-prince and become entangled in a curse that threatens the safety of her family and her people. Lily can free them, but the price for freedom may be more than she's willing to pay.

The Firethorn Crown, a re-imagining of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, is the first novel in The Firethorn Chronicles, a series inspired by fairy tales and other classic stories. Follow the sisters on their adventures in a land where sorcery is feared, women can rule, and dragons fly.
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

In Twelve Days Of Faery, King Markon of Montalier is at the end of his tether. His son, Prince Parrin, is afflicted with a rather nasty curse that slaughters, maims, or brutally attacks any woman with whom he so much as flirts. After the rumour that sweeps around the kingdom, promising that any woman breaking the ‘curse’ will be eligible to marry the prince, there is no shortage of willing volunteers. Unfortunately, there is also no shortage of bodies piling up.

Markon needs to do something, but what? Can a visiting enchantress from Avernse help, or is she simply another accident waiting to happen? And will Markon be able to give her up to his son if she does break the curse?

Twelve Days of Faery is the first novella in the Shards Of A Broken Sword novella trilogy.
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

When Cassie finds a magic pair of glasses that allow her to see fairies, she has to figure out where they came from . . . and what the fairies want her to do with them.

A 12,000 word children's fantasy story.
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

When Clara and Zeke discover a series of strange fossils from an unknown cat-shaped dinosaur, they expect to make a groundbreaking contribution to the science of Paleontology.
 
Soon they find themselves in the sights of Myles Vulture, a trillionaire with unlimited resources who will stop at nothing to obtain the rare Kittysaurus fossils for his own collection. 

Their only hope of success requires a trip 145 million years into the past to a lost period of history called the Zanyzoic where Clara and Zeke run the risk of getting eaten by their own discovery!

Kittysaurus is a hilarious adventure, entertaining for middle school students, children and adults.
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

Discounted (0.99-2.99)

Would you sacrifice the world to save the one you love? 


Alaric was a Keeper; a good man, protecting the land with knowledge and magic, until his wife was poisoned and he betrayed everyone and everything to save her--only to fail.


Now Alaric has one last chance at a cure, but it's buried in an ancient stone. To find it, he'll need the help of an enigmatic elf, a crotchety dwarf, and a bumbling wizard. However, Alaric isn't the only one seeking the stone; an old evil stirs, and one of Alaric's companions will betray them all.


The task would be nearly impossible for a Keeper; so what chance does the shadow of a former Keeper stand?


Alaric must find the strength to become the man he used to be, cure his wife, and save the world from the looming shadows--but he cannot have all three. Which will he sacrifice?


Join Alaric in a land of magic, elves, and the occasional dragon as he is forced to make impossible sacrifices to save everything he knows.


A Threat of Shadows is the brilliant introduction to the magical world of The Keeper Chronicles, a new epic fantasy series by JA Andrews. Fans of Patrick Rothfuss, Brandon Sanderson, and Terry Pratchett will enjoy this unputdownable noblebright tale. 


Dive into this enchanting fantasy novel with real emotional depth. Grab your copy of A Threat of Shadows and begin this epic series today!

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

The galaxy is in crisis, and Carrie Hatchett’s the last person on Earth who should be fixing it.


Carrie is a low-achieving daydreamer. After providing a good home for her butt-ugly dog and psychotic cat, her biggest challenge in life is to avoid being fired, again.

But a strange green mist sucks her beneath her kitchen sink, and an unusual clerical error leads to an offer she foolishly doesn’t refuse.

The Transgalactic Council hire her to settle a conflict between the mechanical placktoids and the mysterious oootoon. Carrie must overcome her personal weaknesses and, for the first time in her life, succeed in her job, to uncover a threat to the entire galaxy.

Mission Improbable is Book One in the light-hearted, fast-paced, quirky Carrie Hatchett, Space Adventurer series.

Follow Carrie on her adventures today.

“...like Scully and Mulder on acid.”

“A hilarious romp to be savored.”

“...light, playful, and fun.”

“...the characters grow...”

“...like Dr Who...”

“Good plot, good story.”

“...funny and entertaining.”

“If you like Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, you’ll like this story.”

“One of the best satires I’ve ever read.”

Sign up to JJ Green’s mailing list at http://jjgreenauthor.com/ for a free copy of Carrie Hatchett’s Christmas.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

A sunless world. The lost Tower of Light. And the race to find it.

Rafe Grenfeld, diplomat and spy, has problems.

He’s just learned of the discovery of a legendary quartz pillar: his world’s most precious resource. But his informer died before revealing its location, and Rafe’s on the run in the hostile state of Blackstone.

Once, quartz powered magical devices, but the mages who created them are long gone. Now, veins of quartz give light to a dying world, and Rafe has competition.

Karzov, the notorious chief of Blackstone’s secret police, is also hunting for the pillar. Determined to claim it for his own country, Rafe forms an uneasy alliance with the mysterious and maddening Isabella. As dangerous magical artifacts resurface and dark forces close in, Rafe must tap into the lost powers of the mages to find and secure the quartz—before his world is torn apart by famine and war.
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

There is nothing Aeris St. Cloud wants more than to win her father's love and the acceptance of her family unit by joining the Military Academy at New Hope. But after she is captured by the fearsome space pirate, Captain Chainsword, Aerie is certain falling in love with her nation's arch enemy is the last possible way to earn their coveted esteem.

Driven by vengeance, Exton Shepherd never set out to save anyone. As he circles the war-torn world in his pirated starship, the Perdition, he only sees his father's ghost lurking around every corner and the looming darkness on the horizon. When Aerie unexpectedly tumbles into his life, he finds he cannot trust her, anymore than he can ignore her. But just like the raging war down on Earth, it's tempting to think he can ...

When the war ascends to the heights of the Perdition, Aerie's loyalty, and Exton's heart, are put to the test. But will love be enough to save them - and others - from certain destruction?
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

The cats of Stardust Station have long hidden their intelligence from the humans that live there. Now a crisis threatens them both. Can the cats and humans learn to work together in time to save both the station and the planet below?

A few hundred years from now, Earth has gone to space...and come back. The remnant of a once vibrant space effort persists in the form of a few hundred solar power satellites that provide half of the world's power. John Aldrin is one of four people crewing the last remaining space station, with the mission to keep the satellites operating. But Earth has neglected them so long that they are on the verge of breakdown.

Benign neglect has allowed something else to happen: In the station's forest habitat, a group of genetically modified cats have grown to intelligence. Some have been adopted by the astronauts and brought to their living area. Natural telepaths, both groups of Cats have agreed to keep the knowledge of their intelligence secret from the humans.

Their equilibrium is destroyed when a solar flare strikes and knocks out the satellites. The Cats must reveal their secret to save both their station and the world below. But can they convince a skeptical Earth to work with them?
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

There is no sun. There is no moon. There is only gray—the smog belched from coal-fueled factories. The Workers silently shuffle to their assigned posts. The Outcasts watch from the alley walls. On every corner, a Watcher stands stone-faced, a rifle in hand. This is the only life that exists. Beyond the mountains is a dream. But dreams are foolish in a place like this.

Hannah has spent nineteen years dodging Watchers and doing as she is told.

Do not look Watchers in the eye. Don't give them a reason to notice you.

But when she wakes to the valley exploding in revolution, Hannah is forced onto a dangerous path, where nothing is what she believed. Suddenly freedom is in her grasp, and the way there requires working with the men she fears most.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

Giveaway