Free and Discounted Fiction for Wednesday, 02.01.17

Please check price before downloading. Prices are subject to change and are not guaranteed by eReader Obsession.

(Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, which means if you click on one of the product links, I’ll receive a small commission.)

Free

A kingdom of shadows. A soldier sworn to protect. A princess silenced by love.

Plagued by her mother’s matchmaking attempts, Princess Lily, the eldest of twelve sisters and heir to a mighty kingdom, struggles to prove herself worthy of her inheritance while avoiding the attention of unwanted admirers. Tradition forbids marriage with the man she loves, so she would rather rule alone than marry someone who only wants the crown.

Fleeing an overzealous suitor, Lily stumbles into a secret underground kingdom where she and her sisters encounter a mysterious sorcerer-prince and become entangled in a curse that threatens the ones she loves most. She must find a way to break the curse before time runs out, or risk sentencing herself and her sisters to a lifetime of darkness.

Fantasy, romance, and adventure combine in the fairy tale-inspired Firethorn Chronicles, an interconnected series of stand-alone tales drawn from The Twelve Dancing Princesses. Follow the sisters on their journeys in a land where sorcery is feared and dragons fly.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

In Twelve Days Of Faery, King Markon of Montalier is at the end of his tether. His son, Prince Parrin, is afflicted with a rather nasty curse that slaughters, maims, or brutally attacks any woman with whom he so much as flirts. After the rumour that sweeps around the kingdom, promising that any woman breaking the ‘curse’ will be eligible to marry the prince, there is no shortage of willing volunteers. Unfortunately, there is also no shortage of bodies piling up.

Markon needs to do something, but what? Can a visiting enchantress from Avernse help, or is she simply another accident waiting to happen? And will Markon be able to give her up to his son if she does break the curse?

Twelve Days of Faery is the first novella in the Shards Of A Broken Sword novella trilogy.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

When Cassie finds a magic pair of glasses that allow her to see fairies, she has to figure out where they came from . . . and what the fairies want her to do with them.

A 12,000 word children’s fantasy story.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

When Clara and Zeke discover a series of strange fossils from an unknown cat-shaped dinosaur, they expect to make a groundbreaking contribution to the science of Paleontology.
 
Soon they find themselves in the sights of Myles Vulture, a trillionaire with unlimited resources who will stop at nothing to obtain the rare Kittysaurus fossils for his own collection. 

Their only hope of success requires a trip 145 million years into the past to a lost period of history called the Zanyzoic where Clara and Zeke run the risk of getting eaten by their own discovery!

Kittysaurus is a hilarious adventure, entertaining for middle school students, children and adults.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

Discounted (0.99-2.99)

He betrayed everything to save his wife. 

He failed.

Alaric abandoned his role as a Keeper, 

used his magic and knowledge in ways that defied everything good the Keepers stood for, 

and still, the poison rages through her body.

His last chance to save her lies in an ancient Wellstone, a repository of power buried and lost long ago.

Luck—or something more troubling—leads him to a small group searching for the same stone. A disgruntled dwarf, a befuddled wizard, and an elf with an unsettling amount of power.

With their help, he might just find the cure before time runs out.

If he can survive the dragon, the traitor, and the terrible evil that’s awakening…

A Threat of Shadows is the brilliant introduction to the magical world of The Keeper Chronicles, a new epic fantasy series by JA Andrews. Fans of Patrick Rothfuss, David Eddings, and Terry Pratchett will love this unputdownable noblebright tale.

Dive into this enchanting fantasy novel with real emotional depth. Grab you copy of A Threat of Shadows and begin this epic series today!

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

If you like Doctor Who, you’ll love Carrie Hatchett’s Space Adventures.

Carrie Hatchett is a low-achieving daydreamer. After providing a good home for her butt-ugly dog and crazy cat, her biggest challenge in life is to avoid being fired, again.

But a strange green mist sucks her beneath her kitchen sink, and an unusual clerical error leads to an offer she foolishly doesn’t refuse.

As a Transgalactic Intercultural Community Crisis Liaison Officer, it’s her job to fix whatever problems the galaxy throws at her.

Has she bitten off more than she can chew?

Follow Carrie on her adventures today!

Mission Improbable is book one in the comedy sci-fi romp, Carrie Hatchett, Space Adventurer.

Sign up to J.J. Green’s reader group for a free copy of Carrie Hatchett’s Christmas: http://jjgreenauthor.com/

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

A sunless world. The lost Tower of Light. And the race to find it.

Rafe Grenfeld, diplomat and spy, has problems.

He’s just learned of the discovery of a legendary quartz pillar: his world’s most precious resource. But his informer died before revealing its location, and Rafe’s on the run in the hostile state of Blackstone.

Once, quartz powered magical devices, but the mages who created them are long gone. Now, veins of quartz give light to a dying world, and Rafe has competition.

Karzov, the notorious chief of Blackstone’s secret police, is also hunting for the pillar. Determined to claim it for his own country, Rafe forms an uneasy alliance with the mysterious and maddening Isabella. As dangerous magical artifacts resurface and dark forces close in, Rafe must tap into the lost powers of the mages to find and secure the quartz—before his world is torn apart by famine and war.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

When survival is all that matters, does truth still make a difference?

“I’m your enemy,” Aerie told him. “There. It’s that simple. Now, I’d appreciate it if you would stop with the pleasantries and start torturing me. I’ll be much happier when I am dead.”

“I can understand your thoughts on the matter,” he said, obviously smothering a laugh, “but I’d love for you to give me the chance to change your mind.”

Frustration hit her again. Was he teasing her? Or worse – was he telling her the truth?

There is nothing Aeris St. Cloud wants more than to win her father’s love and the acceptance of her family unit by joining the Military Academy at New Hope. But after she is captured by the fearsome space pirate, Captain Chainsword, Aerie is certain falling in love with her nation’s arch enemy is the last possible way to earn their coveted esteem.

Driven by vengeance, Exton Shepherd never set out to save anyone. As he circles the war-torn world in his pirated starship, the Perdition, he only sees his father’s ghost lurking around every corner and the looming darkness on the horizon. When Aerie unexpectedly tumbles into his life, he finds he cannot trust her, anymore than he can ignore her. But just like the raging war down on Earth, it’s tempting to think he can …

When the war ascends to the heights of the Perdition, Aerie’s loyalty, and Exton’s heart, are put to the test. But will love be enough to save them – and others – from certain destruction?

The Heights of Perdition is the first book in the Divine Space Pirates trilogy, a futuristic romance series where family, faith, and freedom are all at risk. Look for Book 2, The Breadth of Creation, as the story – and the war – continues on!

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

The cats of Stardust Station have long hidden their intelligence from the humans that live there. Now a crisis threatens them both. Can the cats and humans learn to work together in time to save both the station and the planet below?

A few hundred years from now, Earth has gone to space…and come back. The remnant of a once vibrant space effort persists in the form of a few hundred solar power satellites that provide half of the world’s power. John Aldrin is one of four people crewing the last remaining space station, with the mission to keep the satellites operating. But Earth has neglected them so long that they are on the verge of breakdown.

Benign neglect has allowed something else to happen: In the station’s forest habitat, a group of genetically modified cats have grown to intelligence. Some have been adopted by the astronauts and brought to their living area. Natural telepaths, both groups of Cats have agreed to keep the knowledge of their intelligence secret from the humans.

Their equilibrium is destroyed when a solar flare strikes and knocks out the satellites. The Cats must reveal their secret to save both their station and the world below. But can they convince a skeptical Earth to work with them?

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

 

There is no sun. There is no moon. There is only gray—the smog belched from coal-fueled factories. The Workers silently shuffle to their assigned posts. The Outcasts watch from the alley walls. On every corner, a Watcher stands stone-faced, a rifle in hand. This is the only life that exists. Beyond the mountains is a dream. But dreams are foolish in a place like this.

Hannah has spent nineteen years dodging Watchers and doing as she is told.

Do not look Watchers in the eye. Don’t give them a reason to notice you.

But when she wakes to the valley exploding in revolution, Hannah is forced onto a dangerous path, where nothing is what she believed. Suddenly freedom is in her grasp, and the way there requires working with the men she fears most.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

 

Giveaway